April 19, 2021

Contact: Tracy LaPointe l (803) 898-8582 l

Levy, Mann Appointed to SC Mental Health Commission

Columbia, SC – Elliott Levy, MD, of Charleston and Bobby H. Mann, Jr., of Greenville, have been appointed to serve as members of the South Carolina Mental Health Commission, filling the seats for South Carolina’s First and Fourth Congressional districts, respectively.

Dr. Levy has served as staff psychiatrist at the Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center since 2007 and as an affiliate associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Medical University of South Carolina since 2012. He previously worked with the South Carolina Department of Mental Health in multiple capacities for more than 20 years. Dr. Levy, who is Board certified for the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, received his MD from and completed his residency in Psychiatry at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Mr. Mann, a partner at Temple & Mann Attorneys in Greenville, lives in Taylors, South Carolina. He is a graduate of Francis Marion College and the University of South Carolina School of Law.  Mann is an attorney who has been practicing law in the Upstate for 36 years. His work in family law and probate matters have afforded him the opportunity to be involved with mental health issues in both legal and practical capacities.

“The SC Mental Health Commission is excited to welcome Dr. Levy and Mr. Mann to the Commission, particularly given their extensive individual expertise and experience,” said SC Mental Health Commission Chair Greg Pearce. “We also anticipate the appointment of one additional Commissioner in the near future, which would bring the Commission back to its full statutory complement of seven members at a time when the Department will be re-examining how best to serve the mental health needs of South Carolinians as we emerge from the stress and isolationism of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

The South Carolina Mental Health Commission, which meets monthly, is the governing body of the South Carolina Department of Mental Health. Commissioners are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.