The SC Mental Health Commission is the governing body of the SC Department of Mental Health and has jurisdiction over the state's public mental health system. Its seven members are appointed for five-year terms by the governor with advice and consent of the Senate.

(L to R) Seated: Vice Chair Elliott Levy, MD; Chair L. Gregory Pearce, Jr., Alison Evans, PsyD Standing: Crystal A. Maxwell, MD; Bobby H. Mann, Jr; Robert E. Hiott, Jr; Carl Edison Jones, PhD

Commission Members

Elliott Levy, MD, Chair – Dr. Levy has served as staff psychiatrist at the Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center since 2007 and as an affiliate associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Medical University of South Carolina since 2012. He previously worked with the South Carolina Department of Mental Health in multiple capacities for more than 20 years. Dr. Levy, who is Board certified for the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, received his MD from and completed his residency in Psychiatry at the Medical University of South Carolina. Representing the 1st Congressional District, appointed 4/07/21.

Carl Edison Jones, Ph.D., Vice Chair – Dr. Jones earned his doctorate degree in Counseling and Psychological Services from Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, Georgia. He has served as a special education teacher in the Horry County School system, as well as an addictions specialist and program coordinator at the South Carolina Department of Mental Health’s Waccamaw Center for Mental Health. Most recently, he served stints as vice president for Student Affairs at both SC State University and Clark Atlanta University. Throughout his career, Dr. Jones has served in multiple organizational leadership positions, including as a current board member and past president of the Action Council for Mental Health and Human Services, former board member and former president of the Southeastern Testing Association, and former president of the Counseling and Educational Psychology Association. His professional memberships include the American Counseling Association, the American College Personnel Association, and the Action Council for Mental Health and Human Services. Doctor Jones resides in Orangeburg, SC. Representing the 6th Congressional District, appointed 3/14/2022.

L. Gregory "Greg" Pearce, Jr. - Mr. Pearce brings over 50 years of clinical and mental health advocacy experience to the Commission having begun his relationship with DMH as a Psychiatric Aide at the SC State Hospital (SCSH) in 1966. After receiving his undergraduate training in Psychology from Presbyterian College, he returned to SCSH while completing his graduate training at the University of South Carolina sponsored by DMH. He served as a Psychologist for many years before becoming the Director of the Developmental Disabilities Unit at SCSH. In 1986, Mr. Pearce was named the Facility Director of Crafts-Farrow State Hospital, a position he held until 1992. He was elected to Richland County Council in 1998 where he served for twenty years and was the County's liaison to the Columbia Area Mental Health Center, LRADAC and Palmetto Health (now Prisma Health) during that time. Mr. Pearce joined the South Carolina Mental Health Commission in 2019. Representing the 2nd Congressional District, appointed 3/15/19.

Bobby H. Mann, Jr. – Mr. Mann, a partner at Temple & Mann Attorneys in Greenville, lives in Taylors, South Carolina. He is a graduate of Francis Marion College and the University of South Carolina School of Law.  Mann is an attorney who has been practicing law in the Upstate for 36 years. His work in family law and probate matters have afforded him the opportunity to be involved with mental health issues in both legal and practical capacities. Representing the 4th Congressional District, appointed 4/07/21.

Crystal A. Maxwell, MD - Dr. Maxwell of Fort Mill, South Carolina, is the founder and chief executive officer of LIGHT Family Wellness, where she also serves as a physician. Board certified in Family Medicine, Dr. Maxwell received her MD from the University of Tennessee School of Medicine, where she also completed her residency. She also holds a physician master’s degree in business administration from Auburn University. Representing the Fifth Congressional District, appointed 5/11/21.

7th Congressional District - vacant

3rd Congressional District - vacant

To contact a member of the South Carolina Mental Health Commission, please address your correspondence to the specific member and mail to:

South Carolina Mental Health Commission
c/o South Carolina Department of Mental Health
Attn: Commissioner [Please Insert Commission Member’s Name]
P.O. Box 485
Columbia, SC 29202